Book Review: The Dark Net by Benjamin Percy

dark-net-percy

I can’t remember how I discovered Benjamin Percy’s unique brand of literary horror, but I do remember being excited to receive an Advanced Reading Copy of Red Moon back in 2013 while working as a bookseller. I was similarly excited to receive a digital galley of his new supernatural cyber-thriller The Dark Net.

Having recently read Thrill Me, Percy’s semi-autobiographical collection of essays on writing, I was curious to see how well he applies his theories to his own fiction. Fortunately (as Karen Russell proclaims on the cover) he practices what he preaches, fleshing his characters and their world out into a cautionary tale about the dangers of technology that manages to be both horrifying and heartbreaking. One of the things I appreciate most about Percy’s writing is his ability to turn a phrase–while I was reading, I found myself highlighting passages on my tablet so I could come back to them later.

In Thrill Me, Percy advises writers to ensure their story contains at least one iconic set piece–he uses the locker room and pig’s blood scenes from Carrie as an example–that their readers will remember long after they finish the book. He achieves that here, continually upping the ante in one particularly harrowing sequence of murder and mayhem that echoes the opening of Stephen King’s Cell. It will definitely have you thinking about our collective over-reliance on digital devices.

The Dark Net by Benjamin Percy is now available for purchase now.

Disclaimer: I received an Advanced Reading Copy from NetGalley in exchange for a fair and honest review.

Leave a Reply

