5 More Sci Fi, Fantasy and Horror Books I’m Looking Forward to Reading in 2016

thelastone

Image: Random House

Back in December, I posted a list of my most anticipated speculative fiction releases for 2016. From critically-lauded debut novels, to sequels to past bestsellers, here are a few more sci fi, fantasy, and horror titles expected to hit shelves in the second half of this year that look promising.

 

suicidemotorclub

Image: Penguin

Book: The Suicide Motor Club

Author: Christopher Buehlman

Release Date: June 7, 2016

What it’s About: A group of murderous road vampires target the wrong family, leading to a bloody cat-and-mouse chase across the highways of America.

Why I’m Looking Forward to it: The premise of Buehlman’s latest horror novel, including a take-no-prisoners female protagonist who will stop at nothing to avenge her family, reminds me of  Joe Hill’s NOS4R2, which was one of my favourite reads of 2013.

 

disappearanceatdevilsrock

Image: HarperCollins

Book: Disappearance at Devil’s Rock

Author: Paul Tremblay

Release Date: June 21, 2016

What it’s About: The mysterious disappearance of a 13-year-old boy has local law enforcement stumped, until a series of apparitions lead his mother to look to the occult for answers.

Why I’m Looking Forward to it: Tremblay’s last book, A Head Full of Ghosts, which featured a similar blend of psychological and supernatural suspense, was one of my top speculative fiction picks for 2015, so I’m eager to see what he does next.

 

thelastone

Image: Random House

Book: The Last One

Author: Alexandra Oliva

Release Date: July 12, 2016

What it’s about: A contestant in a Survivor-style reality show finds herself stuck in a catastrophic situation that threatens her survival for real.

Why I’m Looking Forward to it: As a long-time Lost fanatic, lover of end-of-the-world fiction, and detractor of unscripted television, Oliva’s debut novel sounds like it’s right up my alley. It’s also getting rave reviews from respected industry sources.

 

theapartment

Image: Macmillan

Book: The Apartment

Author: S.L. Grey

Release Date: July 26, 2016

What it’s About: In the latest collaboration between South African horror authors Sarah Lotz and Louis Greenburg, a couple’s house swap vacation turns into a nightmare.

Why I’m Looking Forward to it: Not only did I enjoy their survivalist thriller, Under Ground, but I’m a huge fan of Lotz’s two solo works, The Three, and Day Four.

 

closedandcommonorbit

Image: Hachette UK

Book: A Closed and Common Orbit

Author: Becky Chambers

Release Date: October 20, 2016

What it’s About: A follow up to Chambers’s debut science fiction novel, The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet.

Why I’m Looking Forward to it: While I admit I don’t read much space opera, I adored the Firefly-esque world Chambers introduced in Long Way — so much that I was thrilled when she announced she was writing a second book about these weird and wonderful characters.

Leave a Reply

